The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a vital stage in learning. Children develop quickly in the early years of Nursery and Reception and our EYFS team at Linthorpe Community Primary School are committed to ensuring that your child has the best possible start to their education by teaching and promoting skills that are the building blocks to their future learning.
In Nursery and Reception, children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework, details of which can be found at:
Your child will be developing skills, acquiring knowledge and demonstrating their understanding in an exciting, structured play-based environment. There are seven main areas that are focused on:
Three prime areas:
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
Four specific areas:
  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design
The context for learning:
Throughout the year, children work on a variety of Learning Projects through which the seven areas of learning are delivered. Each Learning Project includes imaginative, enjoyable, exciting and challenging activities which are relevant to each child's stage of development. The EYFS curriculum is flexible enough to include topical issues and any opportunities for learning that arise from the children's own experiences and interests.
This is a fantastic document for tracking and supporting your child's development.